yet another post that illustrates that i think in bullet points, not paragraphs

Max Weber

Max Weber

This is Max, my dog.  He’s named after Max Weber.  I met Max (the dog, not the social theorist) the day I defended my thesis, which is why he’s named after a sociologist.  Since he’s half German Shepherd, it seemed appropriate to name him after a German.  Fritz was an option, but it doesn’t sound like a word after you say it five times, so I decided on Max.

The other half of him is Corgi, btw.  He’s a Franken-dog – the middle section of him is pure Corgi, but the head and the tail are German Shepherd.  He is oddly out of proportion, but he’s sweet and loving and pretty smart.  Except when he chews on my hand with his giant teeth.  That part kinda sucks.

I wasn’t planning on getting a dog until later this summer, but he needed a home and his previous owner was pretty retarded**.  I was afraid that if I didn’t take him, she would just let him out on the side of the road or something equally cruel.  So he lives with me now, and he seems pretty happy.

As I alluded to earlier:   the thesis is defended.  I have to finish some work on it today (or tomorrow, or Friday. . .), but I’m only a few hours of editing away from actually submitting it and being done with it.  That feels pretty nice.  Also, my advisor wants me to submit it for publication in Feminist Criminology, which would be pretty rad.

I move to Denver in 16 days.  I feel really great about that.  My sister and me (or is it I?  fuck, I can never remember this rule) are going to have a truly excellent summer.  It will be even more excellent when I find a job that doesn’t involve caramel frappuccinos.  Maybe one that involves social science?  That would be nice.

I’m already thinking about going back to school for my Ph.D., even though I have complained and procrastinated my way through my Master’s.  I am an academic masochist.

Kurt Vonnegut said, “I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, “If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.”   I should really read some of his work.

I think that’s it for now.  See ya.

**I have officially decided that I am no longer going to feel bad for using the word “retarded”.  I’m pretty damn PC about most other things, so I’m reclaiming “retarded”.  Kinda like how feminists reclaimed “bitch” and “cunt”.  I like using the word, so I’m going to.

2 comments so far

  1. ashleybeer on

    Can’t wait to meet Sir Maxamillion. My dog has been bothering me all day so I can’t wait for you to be here with little Max to distract Bugatti. I hope they love each other, it just might take a while.

  2. Deb on

    My sister and I. There is no rule. Just take out the other person/people until you are the only one left in the sentence and then you’ll hear it. “(My sister and)I are/am going to have a truly excellent summer.” or “She gave the dog to (my sister and) me.” I give you a year (max)until you’re back in school. Love the dog.


Leave a comment